What is the longest region of the electromagnetic spectrum?

Radio waves have the longest wavelength, and gamma rays have the shortest wavelength.

What are the regions of the electromagnetic spectrum?

The EM spectrum is generally divided into seven regions, in order of decreasing wavelength and increasing energy and frequency. The common designations are: radio waves, microwaves, infrared (IR), visible light, ultraviolet (UV), X-rays and gamma rays.

Which spectral band is known as the long wavelength region?

The wavelength of UV rays is shorter than the violet end of the visible spectrum but longer than the X-ray. UV is the longest wavelength radiation whose photons are energetic enough to ionize atoms, separating electrons from them, and thus causing chemical reactions.

Which of the 7 major region of electromagnetic spectrum have the highest frequency?

The waves that live in the gamma ray section have the highest frequencies and smallest wavelengths of all the EM waves. In fact, there is no lower limit to the wavelength of a gamma ray. Some have wavelengths that are smaller than an atom! Gamma rays are emitted naturally from things undergoing radioactive decay.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What does the electromagnetic spectrum contain?

What is the narrowest region of the electromagnetic spectrum?

Visible Light. Visible light is the narrow segment of the electromagnetic spectrum to which the normal human eye responds.

Which wavelength of light is the longest?

On one end of the spectrum is red light, with the longest wavelength. Blue or violet light has the shortest wavelength. White light is a combination of all colors in the color spectrum.

Is the electromagnetic spectrum infinite?

The full set of EM radiation is called the electromagnetic spectrum. To simplify things the EM spectrum divided into sections (such as radio, microwave, infrared, visible, ultraviolet, X-rays and gamma-rays). The EM spectrum is continuous (has no gaps) and infinite.

What are the bands of the electromagnetic spectrum from short to long wavelengths?

The electromagnetic spectrum includes, from longest wavelength to shortest: radio waves, microwaves, infrared, optical, ultraviolet, X-rays, and gamma-rays.

What part of the electromagnetic spectrum is known as the infrared region?

The electromagnetic spectrum between the wavelengths 0.7 and 1,000 µm is known as the infrared radiation. The lower wavelength limit coincides with the upper limit of visible radiation.

What is the highest frequency?

Gamma rays have the highest frequency in the electromagnetic spectrum. They have a frequency of the order of about 1020 to 1022 Hz.

Which among the following EM waves has the longest wavelength?

Radio waves, infrared rays, visible light, ultraviolet rays, X-rays, and gamma rays are all types of electromagnetic radiation. Radio waves have the longest wavelength, and gamma rays have the shortest wavelength.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  What makes an electromagnet work?

Which of the following rays has maximum frequency?

Gamma rays have the highest energies, the shortest wavelengths, and the highest frequencies.

Which color has the highest frequency the longest wavelength?

Violet waves have the highest frequencies. Red waves have the longest wavelengths.

Which of the colors has the longest wavelength and the shortest wavelength?

Each color has a different wavelength. Red has the longest wavelength and violet has the shortest wavelength. When all the waves are seen together, they make white light.

Which among the EM waves has the highest energy?

Gamma rays have the highest energies and shortest wavelengths on the electromagnetic spectrum.